Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Yugoslavia Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia; abbreviated SFRY

      Type: Communist state, federal republic in form

      Capital: Belgrade

      Administrative divisions: 6 socialist republics (socijalisticke republike, singular--socijalisticka republika); Bosna I Hercegovina, Crna Gora, Hrvatska, Makedonija, Slovenija, Srbija; note--there are two autonomous provinces (autonomne pokajine, singular--autonomna pokajina) named Kosovo and Vojvodina within Srbija

      Independence: 1 December 1918; independent monarchy established from the Kingdoms of Serbia and Montenegro, parts of the Turkish Empire, and the Austro-Hungarian Empire; SFRY proclaimed 29 November 1945

      Constitution: 21 February 1974

      Legal system: mixture of civil law system and Communist legal theory; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Proclamation of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, 29 November (1945)

      Executive branch: president of the Collective State Presidency, vice president of the Collective State Presidency, Collective State Presidency, president of the Federal Executive Council, two vice presidents of the Federal Executive Council, Federal Executive Council

      Legislative branch: bicameral Federal Assembly (Savezna Skupstina) consists of an upper chamber or Chamber of Republics and Provinces and a lower chamber or Federal Chamber

      Judicial branch: Federal Court (Savezna Sud), Constitutional Court

      Leaders: Chief of State President of the Collective State Presidency Borisav JOVIC (from Srbija; one-year term expires 15 May 1991); Vice President of the Collective State Presidency--Stipe SUVAR (from Hrvatska; one-year term expires 15 May 1991); note--the offices of president and vice president rotate annually among members of the Collective State Presidency with the current vice president assuming the presidency and a new vice president selected from area which has gone the longest without filling the position (the current sequence is Srbija, Hrvatska, Crna Gora, Vojvodina, Kosovo, Makedonija, Bosna i Hercegovina, and Slovenija); Head of Government President of the Federal Executive Council Ante MARKOVIC (since 16 March 1989); Vice President of the Federal Executive Council Aleksandar MITROVIC (since 16 March 1989); Vice President of the Federal Executive Council Zivko PREGL (since 16 March 1989)

      Political parties and leaders: there are about 90 political parties operating country-wide including the League of Communists of Yugoslavia (LCY)

      Suffrage: at age 16 if employed, universal at age 18

      Elections: direct national elections probably will be held in late 1990

      Communists: 2,079,013 party members (1988)

      Other political or pressure groups: Socialist Alliance of Working People of Yugoslavia (SAWPY), the major mass front organization; Confederation of Trade Unions of Yugoslavia (CTUY), League of Socialist Youth of Yugoslavia, Federation of Veterans' Associations of Yugoslavia (SUBNOR)

      Member of: ASSIMER, CCC, CEMA (observer but participates in certain commissions), FAO, G-77, GATT, IAEA, IBA, IBRD, ICAC, ICAO, IDA, IDB--Inter-American Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, IHO, ILO, ILZSG, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, IPU, ITC, ITU, NAM, OECD (participant in some activities), UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Dzevad MUJEZINOVIC; Chancery at 2410 California Street NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 462-6566; there are Yugoslav Consulates General in Chicago, Cleveland, New York, Pittsburgh, and San Francisco; US--Ambassador Warren ZIMMERMAN; Embassy at Kneza Milosa 50, Belgrade; telephone p38o (11) 645-655; there is a US Consulate General in Zagreb

      Flag: three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), white, and red with a large red five-pointed star edged in yellow superimposed in the center over all three bands

      NOTE: The information regarding Yugoslavia on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Yugoslavia Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Yugoslavia Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)