Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1991 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Jersey Government - 1991

      Long-form name: Bailiwick of Jersey

      Type: British crown dependency

      Capital: Saint Helier

      Administrative divisions: none (British crown dependency)

      Independence: none (British crown dependency)

      Constitution: unwritten; partly statutes, partly common law and practice

      Legal system: English law and local statute

      National holiday: Liberation Day, 9 May (1945)

      Executive branch: British monarch, lieutenant governor, bailiff

      Legislative branch: unicameral Assembly of the States

      Judicial branch: Royal Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); Head of Government--Lieutenant Governor and Commander in Chief Air Marshal Sir John SUTTON (since NA 1990); Bailiff Peter CRILL (since NA)

      Political parties and leaders: none; all independents

      Suffrage: universal adult at age NA

      Elections: Assembly of the States--last held NA (next to be held NA); results--percent of vote NA; seats--(56 total, 52 elected) 52 independents

      Communists: probably none

      Member of: none

      Diplomatic representation: none (British crown dependency)

      Flag: white with the diagonal red cross of Saint Patrick (patron saint of Ireland) extending to the corners of the flag

      NOTE: The information regarding Jersey on this page is re-published from the 1991 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Jersey Government 1991 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Jersey Government 1991 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 08-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)