Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1991 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Nauru Government - 1991

      Long-form name: Republic of Nauru

      Type: republic

      Capital: no capital city as such; government offices in Yaren District

      Administrative divisions: 14 districts; Aiwo, Anabar, Anetan, Anibare, Baiti, Boe, Buada, Denigomodu, Ewa, Ijuw, Meneng, Nibok, Uaboe, Yaren

      Independence: 31 January 1968 (from UN trusteeship under Australia, New Zealand, and UK); formerly Pleasant Island

      Constitution: 29 January 1968

      Legal system: own Acts of Parliament and British common law

      National holiday: Independence Day, 31 January (1968)

      Executive branch: president, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State and Head of Government--President Bernard DOWIYOGO (since 12 December 1989)

      Political parties and leaders: none

      Suffrage: universal and compulsory at age 20

      Elections: President--last held 9 December 1989 (next to be held December 1992); results--Bernard DOWIYOGO elected by Parliament; Parliament--last held on 9 December 1989 (next to be held December 1992); results--percent of vote NA; seats--(18 total) independents 18

      Member of: C (special), ESCAP, ICAO, INTERPOL, ITU, SPC, SPF, UPU

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador-designate Theodore Conrad MOSES resident in Melbourne (Australia); there is a Nauruan Consulate in Agana (Guam); US--the US Ambassador to Australia is accredited to Nauru

      Flag: blue with a narrow, horizontal, yellow stripe across the center and a large white 12-pointed star below the stripe on the hoist side; the star indicates the country's location in relation to the Equator (the yellow stripe) and the 12 points symbolize the 12 original tribes of Nauru

      NOTE: The information regarding Nauru on this page is re-published from the 1991 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Nauru Government 1991 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Nauru Government 1991 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 08-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)