Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1991 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    San Marino Government - 1991

      Long-form name: Republic of San Marino

      Type: republic

      Capital: San Marino

      Administrative divisions: 9 municipalities (castelli, singular--castello); Acquaviva, Borgo Maggiore, Chiesanuova, Domagnano, Faetano, Fiorentino, Monte Giardino, San Marino, Serravalle

      Independence: 301 AD (by tradition)

      Constitution: 8 October 1600; electoral law of 1926 serves some of the functions of a constitution

      Legal system: based on civil law system with Italian law influences; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Anniversary of the Foundation of the Republic, 3 September

      Executive branch: two captains regent, Congress of State (cabinet); real executive power is wielded by the secretary of state for foreign affairs and the secretary of state for internal affairs

      Legislative branch: unicameral Great and General Council (Consiglio Grande e Generale)

      Judicial branch: Council of Twelve (Consiglio dei XII)

      Leaders: Co-Chiefs of State--Captain Regent Aldamiro BARTOLINI and Captain Regent Ottaviano ROSSI (since 1 April 1990); Head of Government--Prime Minister Gabriele GATTI (since July 1986)

      Political parties and leaders: Christian Democratic Party (DCS), Gabriele GATTI; San Marino Democratic Progressive Party (PPDS) formerly San Marino Communist Party (PCS), Gilberto GHIOTTI; San Marino Socialist Party (PSS), Remy GIACOMINI; Democratic Movement (MD), Emilio Della BALDA; San Marino Social Democratic Party (PSDS), Augusto CASALI; San Marino Republican Party (PRS), Cristoforo BUSCARINI

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: Grand and General Council--last held 29 May 1988 (next to be held by May 1993); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(60 total) DCS 27, PCS 18, PSU 8, PSS 7

      Communists: about 300 members

      Other political parties or pressure groups: political parties influenced by policies of their counterparts in Italy

      Member of: CE, CSCE, ICAO, ICFTU, ILO, IMF (observer), IOC, IOM (observer), ITU, LORCS, NAM (guest), UN (observer), UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: San Marino maintains honorary Consulates General in Washington and New York, and an honorary Consulate in Detroit; US--no mission in San Marino, but the Consul General in Florence (Italy) is accredited to San Marino; Consulate General at Lungarno Amerigo Vespucci, 38, 50123 Firenze, Italy (mailing address is APO New York 09019-0007); telephone [39] (55) 239-8276 through 8279 and 217-605

      Flag: two equal horizontal bands of white (top) and light blue with the national coat of arms superimposed in the center; the coat of arms has a shield (featuring three towers on three peaks) flanked by a wreath, below a crown and above a scroll bearing the word LIBERTAS (Liberty)

      NOTE: The information regarding San Marino on this page is re-published from the 1991 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of San Marino Government 1991 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about San Marino Government 1991 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 08-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)