Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
ABC logo

. Index

. 1996 Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback



Aruba Government 1996

    • Names:

        conventional long form:

        conventional short form:

    • Digraph:

    • Type:
      part of the Dutch realm; full autonomy in internal affairs obtained in 1986 upon separation from the Netherlands Antilles

    • Capital:

    • Administrative divisions:
      none (self-governing part of the Netherlands)

    • Independence:
      none (part of the Dutch realm; in 1990, Aruba requested and received from the Netherlands cancellation of the agreement to automatically give independence to the island in 1996)

    • National holiday:
      Flag Day, 18 March

    • Constitution:
      1 January 1986

    • Legal system:
      based on Dutch civil law system, with some English common law influence

    • Suffrage:
      18 years of age; universal

    • Executive branch:

        chief of state:
        Queen BEATRIX Wilhelmina Armgard (since 30 April 1980), represented by Governor General Olindo KOOLMAN (since 1 January 1992)

        head of government:
        Prime Minister Jan (Henny) H. EMAN (since 29 July 1994)

        Council of Ministers; appointed with the advice and approval of the legislature

    • Legislative branch:

        Legislature (Staten):
        elections last held 29 July 1994 (next to be held by NA July 1998); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (21 total) AVP 10, MEP 9, OLA 2

    • Judicial branch:
      Joint High Court of Justice

    • Political parties and leaders:
      Electoral Movement Party (MEP), Nelson ODUBER; Aruban People's Party (AVP), Jan (Henny) H. EMAN; National Democratic Action (ADN), Pedro Charro KELLY; New Patriotic Party (PPN), Eddy WERLEMEN; Aruban Patriotic Party (PPA), Benny NISBET; Aruban Democratic Party (PDA), Leo BERLINSKI; Democratic Action '86 (AD '86), Arturo ODUBER; Organization for Aruban Liberty (OLA), Glenbert CROES

        governing coalition includes the MEP, PPA, and ADN

    • Member of:
      ECLAC (associate), INTERPOL, IOC, UNESCO (associate), WCL, WTO (associate)

    • Diplomatic representation in US:
      none (self-governing part of the Netherlands)

    • US diplomatic representation:
      none (self-governing part of the Netherlands)

    • Flag:
      blue with two narrow horizontal yellow stripes across the lower portion and a red, four-pointed star outlined in white in the upper hoist-side corner

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Language Translation Services

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997

Copyright © 1995-2020 ITA (all rights reserved)