Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
ABC logo

. Index

. 1996 Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback



Bermuda Government 1996

    • Names:

        conventional long form:

        conventional short form:

    • Digraph:

    • Type:
      dependent territory of the UK

    • Capital:

    • Administrative divisions:
      9 parishes and 2 municipalities*; Devonshire, Hamilton, Hamilton*, Paget, Pembroke, Saint George*, Saint Georges, Sandys, Smiths, Southampton, Warwick

    • Independence:
      none (dependent territory of the UK)

    • National holiday:
      Bermuda Day, 24 May

    • Constitution:
      8 June 1968

    • Legal system:
      English law

    • Suffrage:
      21 years of age; universal

    • Executive branch:

        chief of state:
        Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor Lord David WADDINGTON (since 25 August 1992)

        head of government:
        Premier John William David SWAN (since NA January 1982); Deputy Premier J. Irving PEARMAN (since 5 October 1993)

        Cabinet; nominated by the premier, appointed by the governor

    • Legislative branch:
      bicameral Parliament

        consists of an 11-member body appointed by the governor

        House of Assembly:
        elections last held 5 October 1993 (next to be held by NA October 1998); results - percent of vote by party UBP 50%, PLP 46%, independents 4%; seats - (40 total) UBP 22, PLP 18

    • Judicial branch:
      Supreme Court

    • Political parties and leaders:
      United Bermuda Party (UBP), John W. D. SWAN; Progressive Labor Party (PLP), Frederick WADE; National Liberal Party (NLP), Gilbert DARRELL

    • Other political or pressure groups:
      Bermuda Industrial Union (BIU), Ottiwell SIMMONS

    • Member of:
      CARICOM (observer), CCC, ICFTU, INTERPOL (subbureau), IOC

    • Diplomatic representation in US:
      none (dependent territory of the UK)

    • US diplomatic representation:

        chief of mission:
        Ambassador Robert A. FARMER

        consulate(s) general:
        Crown Hill, 16 Middle Road, Devonshire, Hamilton

        mailing address:
        P. O. Box HM325, Hamilton HMBX; PSC 1002, FPO AE 09727-1002

        [1] (809) 295-1342

        [1] (809) 295-1592

    • Flag:
      red with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Bermudian coat of arms (white and blue shield with a red lion holding a scrolled shield showing the sinking of the ship Sea Venture off Bermuda in 1609) centered on the outer half of the flag

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Language Translation Services

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997

Copyright © 1995-2020 ITA (all rights reserved)