Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
ABC logo

. Index

. 1996 Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback



French Southern and Antarctic Lands Government 1996

    • Names:

        conventional long form:
        Territory of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands

        conventional short form:
        French Southern and Antarctic Lands

        local long form:
        Territoire des Terres Australes et Antarctiques Francaises

        local short form:
        Terres Australes et Antarctiques Francaises

    • Digraph:

    • Type:
      overseas territory of France since 1955; governed by High Administrator Bernard de GOUTTES (since May 1990), who is assisted by a 7-member Consultative Council and a 12-member Scientific Council

    • Capital:
      none; administered from Paris, France

    • Administrative divisions:
      none (overseas territory of France); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 3 districts named Ile Crozet, Iles Kerguelen, and Iles Saint-Paul et Amsterdam; excludes "Terre Adelie" claim in Antarctica that is not recognized by the US

    • Independence:
      none (overseas territory of France)

    • Flag:
      the flag of France is used

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997

Copyright © 1995-2020 ITA (all rights reserved)