Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
ABC logo

. Index

. 1996 Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback



Lithuania Government 1996

    • Names:

        conventional long form:
        Republic of Lithuania

        conventional short form:

        local long form:
        Lietuvos Respublika

        local short form:

        Lithuanian Soviet Socialist Republic

    • Digraph:

    • Type:

    • Capital:

    • Administrative divisions:
      44 regions (rajonai, singular - rajonas) and 11 municipalities*: Akmenes Rajonas, Alytaus Rajonas, Alytus*, Anyksciu Rajonas, Birsionas*, Birzu Rajonas, Druskininkai*, Ignalinos Rajonas, Jonavos Rajonas, Joniskio Rajonas, Jurbarko Rajonas, Kaisiadoriu Rajonas, Marijampoles Rajonas, Kaunas*, Kauno Rajonas, Kedainiu Rajonas, Kelmes Rajonas, Klaipeda*, Klaipedos Rajonas, Kretingos Rajonas, Kupiskio Rajonas, Lazdiju Rajonas, Marijampole*, Mazeikiu Rajonas, Moletu Rajonas, Neringa* Pakruojo Rajonas, Palanga*, Panevezio Rajonas, Panevezys*, Pasvalio Rajonas, Plunges Rajonas, Prienu Rajonas, Radviliskio Rajonas, Raseiniu Rajonas, Rokiskio Rajonas, Sakiu Rajonas, Salcininky Rajonas, Siauliai*, Siauliu Rajonas, Silales Rajonas, Siltues Rajonas, Sirvinty Rajonas, Skuodo Rajonas, Svencioniu Rajonas, Taurages Rajonas, Telsiu Rajonas, Traky Rajonas, Ukmerges Rajonas, Utenos Rajonas, Varenos Rajonas, Vilkaviskio Rajonas, Vilniaus Rajonas, Vilnius*, Zarasu Rajonas

    • Independence:
      6 September 1991 (from Soviet Union)

    • National holiday:
      Independence Day, 16 February (1918)

    • Constitution:
      adopted 25 October 1992

    • Legal system:
      based on civil law system; no judicial review of legislative acts

    • Suffrage:
      18 years of age; universal

    • Executive branch:

        chief of state:
        President Algirdas Mykolas BRAZAUSKAS (since 25 November 1992; elected acting president by Parliament 25 November 1992 and elected by direct vote 15 February 1993); election last held 14 February 1993 (next to be held NA 1997); results - Algirdas BRAZAUSKAS was elected; note - on 25 November 1992 BRAZAUSKAS was elected chairman of Parliament and, as such, acting president of the Republic; he was confirmed in office by direct balloting 15 February 1993

        head of government:
        Premier Adolfas SLEZEVICIUS (since 10 March 1993)

        Council of Ministers; appointed by the president on the nomination of the prime minister

    • Legislative branch:

        Seimas (parliament):
        elections last held 26 October and 25 November 1992 (next to be held NA 1996); results - LDDP 51%; seats - (141 total) LDDP 73, Conservative Party 30, LKDP 17, LTS 8, Farmers' Union 4, LLS 4, Center Union 2, others 3

    • Judicial branch:
      Supreme Court, Court of Appeals

    • Political parties and leaders:
      Christian Democratic Party (LKDP), Povilas KATILIUS, chairman; Democratic Labor Party of Lithuania (LDDP), Adolfas SLEZEVICIUS, chairman; Lithuanian Nationalist Union (LTS), Rimantas SMETONA, chairman; Lithuanian Social Democratic Party (LSDP), Aloyzas SAKALAS, chairman; Farmers' Union, Jonas CIULEVICIUS, chairman; Center Union, Romualdas OZOLAS, chairman; Conservative Party, Vytautas LANDSBERGIS, chairman; Lithuanian Polish Union (LLS), Rytardas MACIKIANEC, chairman

    • Other political or pressure groups:
      Homeland Union; Lithuanian Future Forum; Farmers Union

    • Member of:
      BIS, CBSS, CCC, CE, EBRD, ECE, FAO, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, INTELSAT (nonsignatory user), INTERPOL, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, NACC, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WEU (associate partner), WHO, WIPO, WMO

    • Diplomatic representation in US:

        chief of mission:
        Ambassador Alfonsas EIDINTAS

        2622 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20009

        [1] (202) 234-5860, 2639

        [1] (202) 328-0466

        consulate(s) general:
        New York

    • US diplomatic representation:

        chief of mission:
        Ambassador James W. SWIHART, Jr.

        Akmenu 6, Vilnius 2600

        mailing address:
        APO AE 09723

        [370] (2) 223-031

        [370] (2) 222-779

    • Flag:
      three equal horizontal bands of yellow (top), green, and red

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997

Copyright © 1995-2020 ITA (all rights reserved)