Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
ABC logo

. Index

. 1996 Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback



Turks and Caicos Islands Government 1996

    • Names:

        conventional long form:

        conventional short form:
        Turks and Caicos Islands

    • Digraph:

    • Type:
      dependent territory of the UK

    • Capital:
      Grand Turk

    • Administrative divisions:
      none (dependent territory of the UK)

    • Independence:
      none (dependent territory of the UK)

    • National holiday:
      Constitution Day, 30 August (1976)

    • Constitution:
      introduced 30 August 1976, suspended in 1986, restored and revised 5 March 1988

    • Legal system:
      based on laws of England and Wales with a small number adopted from Jamaica and The Bahamas

    • Suffrage:
      18 years of age; universal

    • Executive branch:

        chief of state:
        Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1953), represented by Governor Martin BOURKE (since NA February 1993)

        head of government:
        Chief Minister Derek H. TAYLOR (since 31 January 1995)

        Executive Council; consists of three ex-officio members and five appointed by the governor from the Legislative Council

    • Legislative branch:

        Legislative Council:
        elections last held 31 January 1995 (next to be held by NA 2000); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (20 total, 13 elected) PDM 8, PNP 4, independent (Norman SAUNDERS) 1

    • Judicial branch:
      Supreme Court

    • Political parties and leaders:
      Progressive National Party (PNP), Washington MISSICK; People's Democratic Movement (PDM), Derek H. TAYLOR; National Democratic Alliance (NDA), Ariel MISSICK

    • Member of:
      CARICOM (associate), CDB, INTERPOL (subbureau)

    • Diplomatic representation in US:
      none (dependent territory of the UK)

    • US diplomatic representation:
      none (dependent territory of the UK)

    • Flag:
      blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the colonial shield centered on the outer half of the flag; the shield is yellow and contains a conch shell, lobster, and cactus

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997
HTML Colors; Greece Geography Economy, people, communications, transportation, flags, maps

Copyright © 1995-2020 ITA (all rights reserved)