Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
ABC logo

. Index

. 1996 Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback



Wallis and Futuna Government 1996

    • Names:

        conventional long form:
        Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands

        conventional short form:
        Wallis and Futuna

        local long form:
        Territoire des Iles Wallis et Futuna

        local short form:
        Wallis et Futuna

    • Digraph:

    • Type:
      overseas territory of France

    • Capital:
      Mata-Utu (on Ile Uvea)

    • Administrative divisions:
      none (overseas territory of France)

    • Independence:
      none (overseas territory of France)

    • Constitution:
      28 September 1958 (French Constitution)

    • Legal system:
      French legal system

    • Suffrage:
      18 years of age; universal

    • Executive branch:

        chief of state:
        President Francois MITTERRAND (since 21 May 1981)

        head of government:
        High Administrator Philippe LEGRIX (since NA); President of the Territorial Assembly Soane Mani UHILA (since NA March 1992)

        Council of the Territory consists of 3 kings and 3 members appointed by the high administrator on advice of the Territorial Assembly

        there are three traditional kings with limited powers

    • Legislative branch:

        Territorial Assembly (Assemblee Territoriale):
        elections last held 15 March 1987 (next to be held NA); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (20 total) RPR 7, UPL 5, UDF 4, UNF 4

        French Senate:
        elections last held 24 September 1989 (next to be held by NA September 1998); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (1 total) RPR 1

        French National Assembly:
        elections last held 21 and 28 March 1992 (next to be held by NA September 1996); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (1 total) MRG 1; note - Wallis and Futuna elect one deputy

    • Judicial branch:
      none; justice generally administered under French law by the chief administrator, but the three traditional kings administer customary law and there is a magistrate in Mata-Utu

    • Political parties and leaders:
      Rally for the Republic (RPR); Union Populaire Locale (UPL); Union Pour la Democratie Francaise (UDF); Lua kae tahi (Giscardians); Mouvement des Radicaux de Gauche (MRG)

    • Member of:
      FZ, SPC

    • Diplomatic representation in US:
      none (overseas territory of France)

    • US diplomatic representation:
      none (overseas territory of France)

    • Flag:
      the flag of France is used

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997
HTML Colors; Greece Geography Economy, people, communications, transportation, flags, maps

Copyright © 1995-2020 ITA (all rights reserved)