Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Greenland Government - 1990

      Long-form name: none

      Type: part of the Danish realm; self-governing overseas administrative division

      Capital: Nuuk (Godthab)

      Administrative divisions: 3 municipalities (kommuner, singular--kommun); Nordgronland, Ostgronland, Vestgronland

      Independence: part of the Danish realm; self-governing overseas administrative division

      Constitution: Danish

      Legal system: Danish

      National holiday: Birthday of the Queen, 16 April (1940)

      Executive branch: Danish monarch, high commissioner, home rule chairman, prime minister, Cabinet (Landsstyre)

      Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament (Landsting)

      Judicial branch: High Court (Landsret)

      Leaders: Chief of State--Queen MARGRETHE II (since 14 January 1972), represented by High Commissioner Bent KLINTE (since NA); Head of Government--Home Rule Chairman Jonathan MOTZFELDT (since NA May 1979)

      Political parties: Siumut (moderate socialist, advocates more distinct Greenlandic identity and greater autonomy from Denmark); Atassut Party (more conservative, favors continuing close relations with Denmark); Inuit Ataqatigiit (Marxist-Leninist party that favors complete independence from Denmark rather than home rule); Polar Party (Conservative-Greenland Nationalist)

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: Parliament--last held on 27 May 1987 (next to be held by 27 May 1991); results--Siumut 39.8%, Atassut Party 40.1%, Inuit Ataqatigiit 15.3%, Polar Party 4.5%; seats--(27 total) Siumut 11, Atassut Party 11, Inuit Ataqatigiit 4, Polar Party 1; Danish Parliament--last held on 10 May 1988 (next to be held by 10 May 1992); Greenland elects two representatives to the Danish Parliament; results--(percent of vote by party NA; seats--(2 total) number of seats by party NA

      Diplomatic representation: none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      Flag: the flag of Denmark is used

      NOTE: The information regarding Greenland on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Greenland Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Greenland Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)