Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    The Bahamas Government - 1990

      Long-form name: The Commonwealth of The Bahamas

      Type: commonwealth

      Capital: Nassau

      Administrative divisions: 21 districts; Abaco, Acklins Island, Andros Island, Berry Islands, Biminis, Cat Island, Cay Lobos, Crooked Island, Eleuthera, Exuma, Grand Bahama, Harbour Island, Inagua, Long Cay, Long Island, Mayaguana, New Providence, Ragged Island, Rum Cay, San Salvador, Spanish Wells

      Independence: 10 July 1973 (from UK)

      Constitution: 10 July 1973

      Legal system: based on English common law

      National holiday: Independence Day, 10 July (1973)

      Executive branch: British monarch, governor general, prime minister, deputy prime minister, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament consists of an upper house or Senate and a lower house or House of Assembly

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Acting Governor General Sir Henry TAYLOR (since 26 June 1988); Head of Government--Prime Minister Sir Lynden Oscar PINDLING (since 16 January 1967)

      Political parties and leaders: Progressive Liberal Party (PLP), Sir Lynden O. Pindling; Free National Movement (FNM), Cecil Wallace-Whitfield

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: House of Assembly--last held 19 June 1987 (next to be held by June 1992); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(49 total) PLP 31, FNM 16, independents 2

      Communists: none known

      Other political or pressure groups: Vanguard Nationalist and Socialist Party (VNSP), a small leftist party headed by Lionel Carey; Trade Union Congress (TUC), headed by Arlington Miller

      Member of: ACP, CARICOM, CCC, CDB, Commonwealth, FAO, G-77, GATT (de facto), IBRD, ICAO, IDB--Inter-American Development Bank, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, ITU, NAM, OAS, PAHO, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Margaret E. MCDONALD; Chancery at Suite 865, 600 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC 20037; telephone (202) 944-3390; there are Bahamian Consulates General in Miami and New York; US--Ambassador Chic HECHT; Embassy at Mosmar Building, Queen Street, Nassau (mailing address is P. O. Box N-8197, Nassau); telephone (809) 322-1181 or 328-2206

      Flag: three equal horizontal bands of aquamarine (top), gold, and aquamarine with a black equilateral triangle based on the hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding The Bahamas on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of The Bahamas Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about The Bahamas Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)