Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Uganda Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Republic of Uganda

      Type: republic

      Capital: Kampala

      Administrative divisions: 10 provinces; Busoga, Central, Eastern, Karamoja, Nile, North Buganda, Northern, South Buganda, Southern, Western

      Independence: 9 October 1962 (from UK)

      Constitution: 8 September 1967, suspended following coup of 27 July 1985; in process of constitutional revision

      Legal system: government plans to restore system based on English common law and customary law and reinstitute a normal judicial system; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

      National holiday: Independence Day, 9 October (1962)

      Executive branch: president, prime minister, three deputy prime ministers, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: unicameral National Resistance Council

      Judicial branch: Court of Appeal, High Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--President Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta MUSEVENI (since 29 January 1986); Head of Government--Prime Minister Samson Babi Mululu KISEKKA (since 30 January 1986); First Deputy Prime Minister Eriya KATEGAYA (since NA)

      Political parties and leaders: only party--National Resistance Movement (NRM); note--the Uganda Patriotic Movement (UPM), Ugandan People's Congress (UPC), Democratic Party (DP), and Conservative Party (CP) are all proscribed from conducting public political activities

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: National Resistance Council--last held 11-28 February 1989 (next to be held after January 1995); results--NRM is the only party; seats--(278 total, 210 indirectly elected) NRM 210

      Other political parties or pressure groups: Uganda People's Democratic Movement (UPDM), Uganda People's Front (UPF), Uganda Freedom Movement (UFM), Holy Spirit Movement (HSM)

      Communists: possibly a few sympathizers

      Member of: ACP, AfDB, CCC, Commonwealth, FAO, G-77, GATT, IAEA, IBRD, ICAC, ICAO, ICO, IDA, IDB--Islamic Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, ISO, ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Stephen Kapimpina KATENTA-APULI; 5909 16th Street NW, Washington DC 20011; telephone (202) 726-7100 through 7102; US--Ambassador John A. BURROUGHS, Jr.; Embassy at British High Commission Building, Obote Avenue, Kampala (mailing address is P. O. Box 7007, Kampala); telephone p256o (41) 259791

      Flag: six equal horizonal bands of black (top), yellow, red, black, yellow, and red; a white disk is superimposed at the center and depicts a red-crested crane (the national symbol) facing the staff side

      NOTE: The information regarding Uganda on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Uganda Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Uganda Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)