Buy the DOT on Diskettes or CD-ROM

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2003 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Cameroon Government - 2003

      Country name: conventional long form: Republic of Cameroon
      conventional short form: Cameroon
      former: French Cameroon

      Government type: unitary republic; multiparty presidential regime (opposition parties legalized in 1990)
      note: preponderance of power remains with the president

      Capital: Yaounde

      Administrative divisions: 10 provinces; Adamaoua, Centre, Est, Extreme-Nord, Littoral, Nord, Nord-Ouest, Ouest, Sud, Sud-Ouest

      Independence: 1 January 1960 (from French-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday: Republic Day (National Day), 20 May (1972)

      Constitution: 20 May 1972 approved by referendum; 2 June 1972 formally adopted; revised January 1996

      Legal system: based on French civil law system, with common law influence; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage: 20 years of age; universal

      Executive branch: chief of state: President Paul BIYA (since 6 November 1982)
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a seven-year term; election last held 12 October 1997 (next to be held NA October 2004); prime minister appointed by the president
      head of government: Prime Minister Peter Mafany MUSONGE (since 19 September 1996)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president from proposals submitted by the prime minister
      election results: President Paul BIYA reelected; percent of vote - Paul BIYA 92.6%; note - supporters of the opposition candidates boycotted the elections, making a comparison of vote shares relatively meaningless

      Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale (180 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms; note - the president can either lengthen or shorten the term of the legislature)
      elections: last held 23 June 2002 (next to be held NA 2007)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - RDCP 133, SDF 21, UDC 5, other 21
      note: the constitution calls for an upper chamber for the legislature, to be called a Senate, but it has yet to be established

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court (judges are appointed by the president); High Court of Justice (consists of 9 judges and 6 substitute judges, elected by the National Assembly)

      Political parties and leaders: Cameroonian Democratic Union or UDC [Adamou NDAM NJOYA]; Democratic Rally of the Cameroon People or RDCP [Paul BIYA]; Movement for the Defense of the Republic or MDR [Dakole DAISSALA]; Movement for the Liberation and Development of Cameroon or MLDC [leader Marcel YONDO]; Movement for the Youth of Cameroon or MYC [Dieudonne TINA]; National Union for Democracy and Progress or UNDP [Maigari BELLO BOUBA]; Social Democratic Front or SDF [John FRU NDI]; Union of Cameroonian Populations or UPC [Augustin Frederic KODOCK]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: Southern Cameroon National Council [Frederick Ebong ALOBWEDE]; Human Rights Defense Group [Albert MUKONG, president]

      International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, BDEAC, C, CEEAC, CEMAC, ECA, FAO, FZ, G-19, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICCt (signatory), ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, MONUC, NAM, OAU, OIC, OPCW, PCA, UN, UN Security Council (temporary), UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WCO, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US: chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Raymond EPOTE
      chancery: 2349 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      FAX: [1] (202) 387-3826
      telephone: [1] (202) 265-8790

      Diplomatic representation from the US: chief of mission: Ambassador George McDade STAPLES
      embassy: Rue Nachtigal, Yaounde
      mailing address: P. O. Box 817, Yaounde; pouch: American Embassy, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-2520
      telephone: [237] 223-05-12, 222-25-89, 222-17-94, 223-40-14
      FAX: [237] 223-07-53
      branch office(s): Douala

      Flag description: three equal vertical bands of green (hoist side), red, and yellow with a yellow five-pointed star centered in the red band; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

      NOTE: The information regarding Cameroon on this page is re-published from the 2003 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guinea Geography 2003 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cameroon Government 2003 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 20-Sep-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)