Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Buy the DOT on Diskettes or CD-ROM

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2003 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    . Feedback

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Holy See (Vatican City) Government - 2003

      Country name: conventional long form: The Holy See (State of the Vatican City)
      conventional short form: Holy See (Vatican City)
      local short form: Santa Sede (Citta del Vaticano)
      local long form: Santa Sede (Stato della Citta del Vaticano)

      Government type: ecclesiastical

      Capital: Vatican City

      Administrative divisions: none

      Independence: 11 February 1929 (from Italy)
      note: on 11 February 1929, three treaties were signed with Italy which, among other things, recognized the full sovereignty of the Vatican and established its territorial extent; however, the origin of the Papal States, which over the years have varied considerably in extent, may be traced back to the 8th century

      National holiday: Coronation Day of Pope JOHN PAUL II, 22 October (1978)

      Constitution: Apostolic Constitution of 1967 (effective 1 March 1968)

      Legal system: based on Code of Canon Law and revisions to it

      Suffrage: limited to cardinals less than 80 years old

      Executive branch: chief of state: Pope JOHN PAUL II (since 16 October 1978)
      head of government: Secretary of State Cardinal Angelo SODANO (since 2 December 1990)
      cabinet: Pontifical Commission appointed by the pope
      elections: pope elected for life by the College of Cardinals; election last held 16 October 1978 (next to be held after the death of the current pope); secretary of state appointed by the pope
      election results: Karol WOJTYLA elected pope

      Legislative branch: unicameral Pontifical Commission

      Judicial branch: there are three tribunals responsible for civil and criminal matters within Vatican City; three other tribunals rule on issues pertaining to the Holy See
      note: judicial duties were established by the Motu Proprio of Pius XII on 1 May 1946

      Political parties and leaders: none

      Political pressure groups and leaders: none (exclusive of influence exercised by church officers)

      International organization participation: CE (observer), IAEA, ICFTU, IOM (observer), ITU, NAM (guest), OAS (observer), OPCW, OSCE, UN (observer), UNCTAD, UNHCR, UPU, WHO (observer), WIPO, WToO (observer), WTrO (observer)

      Diplomatic representation in the US: chief of mission: Apostolic Nuncio Archbishop Gabriel MONTALVO
      FAX: [1] (202) 337-4036
      telephone: [1] (202) 333-7121
      chancery: 3339 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008

      Diplomatic representation from the US: chief of mission: Ambassador R. James "Jim" NICHOLSON
      embassy: Villa Domiziana, Via delle Terme Deciane 26, 00162 Rome
      mailing address: PSC 59, Box F, APO AE 09624
      telephone: [39] (06) 4674-3428
      FAX: [39] (06) 5758346

      Flag description: two vertical bands of yellow (hoist side) and white with the crossed keys of Saint Peter and the papal miter centered in the white band

      NOTE: The information regarding Holy See (Vatican City) on this page is re-published from the 2003 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guinea Geography 2003 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Holy See (Vatican City) Government 2003 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 20-Sep-03
    Copyright © 2020 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)