Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Buy a wall map at

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2003 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    . Feedback

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Trinidad and Tobago Government - 2003

      Country name: conventional long form: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
      conventional short form: Trinidad and Tobago

      Government type: parliamentary democracy

      Capital: Port-of-Spain

      Administrative divisions: 8 counties, 3 municipalities*, and 1 ward**; Arima*, Caroni, Mayaro, Nariva, Port-of-Spain*, Saint Andrew, Saint David, Saint George, Saint Patrick, San Fernando*, Tobago**, Victoria

      Independence: 31 August 1962 (from UK)

      National holiday: Independence Day, 31 August (1962)

      Constitution: 1 August 1976

      Legal system: based on English common law; judicial review of legislative acts in the Supreme Court; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch: chief of state: President George Maxwell RICHARDS (since 17 March 2003)
      head of government: Prime Minister Patrick MANNING (since 24 December 2001)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed from among the members of Parliament
      elections: president elected by an electoral college, which consists of the members of the Senate and House of Representatives, for a five-year term; election last held 14 February 2003 (next to be held NA 2008); the president usually appoints as prime minister the leader of the majority party in the House of Representatives
      election results: George Maxwell RICHARDS elected president; percent of electoral college vote - 43%

      Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (31 seats; members appointed by the president for a maximum term of five years) and the House of Representatives (36 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: House of Representatives - last held 7 October 2002 (next to be held by October 2007)
      note: Tobago has a unicameral House of Assembly, with 15 members serving four-year terms
      election results: House of Representatives - percent of vote - PNM 55.5%, UNC 44.5%; seats by party - PNM 20, UNC 16

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court of Judicature (comprised of the High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeals; the chief justice is appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister and the leader of the opposition; other justices are appointed by the president on the advice of the Judicial and Legal Service Commission); High Court of Justice; Court of Appeals the highest court of appeal is the Privy Council in London

      Political parties and leaders: National Alliance for Reconstruction or NAR [Hochoy CHARLES]; People's Empowerment Party or PEP [leader NA]; People's National Movement or PNM [Patrick MANNING]; Team Unity or TUN [Ramesh MAHARAJ]; United National Congress or UNC [Basdeo PANDAY]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: Jamaat-al Musilmeen [Yasin BAKR]

      International organization participation: ACP, C, Caricom, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-24, G-77, IADB, IBRD, ICAO, ICCt, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNU, UPU, WCL, WCO, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US: chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Mackisack LOGIE
      chancery: 1708 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
      consulate(s) general: Miami and New York
      FAX: [1] (202) 785-3130
      telephone: [1] (202) 467-6490

      Diplomatic representation from the US: chief of mission: Ambassador Roy L. AUSTIN
      embassy: 15 Queen's Park West, Port-of-Spain
      mailing address: P. O. Box 752, Port-of-Spain
      telephone: [1] (868) 622-6371 through 6376
      FAX: [1] (868) 628-5462

      Flag description: red with a white-edged black diagonal band from the upper hoist side to the lower fly side

      NOTE: The information regarding Trinidad and Tobago on this page is re-published from the 2003 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guinea Geography 2003 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Trinidad and Tobago Government 2003 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 20-Sep-03
    Copyright © 2020 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)