Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2003 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    . Feedback

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Vanuatu Government - 2003

      Country name: conventional long form: Republic of Vanuatu
      conventional short form: Vanuatu
      former: New Hebrides

      Government type: parliamentary republic

      Capital: Port-Vila

      Administrative divisions: 6 provinces; Malampa, Penama, Sanma, Shefa, Tafea, Torba

      Independence: 30 July 1980 (from France and UK)

      National holiday: Independence Day, 30 July (1980)

      Constitution: 30 July 1980

      Legal system: unified system being created from former dual French and British systems

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch: chief of state: President Father John BANI (since 25 March 1999)
      elections: president elected for a four-year term by an electoral college consisting of Parliament and the presidents of the regional councils for a five-year term; election for president last held 25 March 1999 (next to be held NA 2004); following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition is usually elected prime minister by Parliament from among its members; election for prime minister last held 2 August 2002 (next to be held NA 2003)
      election results: Father John BANI elected president; percent of electoral college vote - NA%; Saufatu SOPOANGA elected prime minister by Parliament; Saufatu SOPOANGA 8, Amasone KILEI 7
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the prime minister, responsible to Parliament
      head of government: Prime Minister Saufatu SOPOANGA (since 2 August 2002)

      Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament (52 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 2 May 2002 (next to be held NA 2006)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - UMP 15, VP 14, VRP 3, MPP 2, other and independent 18; note - political party associations are fluid
      note: the National Council of Chiefs advises on matters of custom and land

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court (chief justice is appointed by the president after consultation with the prime minister and the leader of the opposition, three other justices are appointed by the president on the advice of the Judicial Service Commission)

      Political parties and leaders: Jon Frum Movement [Song KEASPAI]; Melanesian Progressive Party or MPP [Barak SOPE]; National United Party or NUP [Dinh Van THAN]; Union of Moderate Parties or UMP [Serge VOHOR]; Vanuaaku Party (Our Land Party) or VP [Edward NATAPEI]; Vanuatu Republican Party or VRP [Maxime Carlot KORMAN]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: NA

      International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AsDB, C, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFC, IFRCS, IMF, IMO, IOC, ITU, NAM, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNMIBH, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTrO (observer)

      Diplomatic representation in the US: Vanuatu does not have an embassy in the US; it does, however, have a Permanent Mission to the UN

      Diplomatic representation from the US: the US does not have an embassy in Vanuatu; the ambassador to Papua New Guinea is accredited to Vanuatu

      Flag description: two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and green with a black isosceles triangle (based on the hoist side) all separated by a black-edged yellow stripe in the shape of a horizontal Y (the two points of the Y face the hoist side and enclose the triangle); centered in the triangle is a boar's tusk encircling two crossed namele leaves, all in yellow

      NOTE: The information regarding Vanuatu on this page is re-published from the 2003 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guinea Geography 2003 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Vanuatu Government 2003 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 20-Sep-03
    Copyright © 2020 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)