Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2006 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Czech Republic Index 2006

    Czech Republic Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Czech Republic Government - 2006

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Czech Republic
      conventional short form: Czech Republic
      local long form: Ceska Republika
      local short form: Ceska Republika

      Government type:
      parliamentary democracy


      Administrative divisions:
      13 regions (kraje, singular - kraj) and 1 capital city* (hlavni mesto); Jihocesky Kraj, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Karlovarsky Kraj, Kralovehradecky Kraj, Liberecky Kraj, Moravskoslezsky Kraj, Olomoucky Kraj, Pardubicky Kraj, Plzensky Kraj, Praha (Prague)*, Stredocesky Kraj, Ustecky Kraj, Vysocina, Zlinsky Kraj

      1 January 1993 (Czechoslovakia split into the Czech Republic and Slovakia)

      National holiday:
      Czech Founding Day, 28 October (1918)

      ratified 16 December 1992, effective 1 January 1993

      Legal system:
      civil law system based on Austro-Hungarian codes; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction; legal code modified to bring it in line with Organization on Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) obligations and to expunge Marxist-Leninist legal theory

      18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President Vaclav KLAUS (since 7 March 2003)
      note: the Czech Republic's first president Vaclav HAVEL stepped down from office on 2 February 2003 having served exactly 10 years; parliament finally elected a successor on 28 February 2003 after two inconclusive elections in January 2003
      head of government: Prime Minister Jiri PAROUBEK (since 25 April 2005), Deputy Prime Ministers Zdenek SKROMACH (since 4 August 2004), Jiri HAVEL (since 2 January 2006), Pavel NEMEC (since 4 August 2004), Milan SIMONOVSKY (since 4 August 2004)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
      elections: president elected by Parliament for a five-year term; last successful election held 28 February 2003 (after earlier elections held 15 and 24 January 2003 were inconclusive; next election to be held January 2008); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: Vaclav KLAUS elected president on 28 February 2003; Vaclav KLAUS 142 votes, Jan SOKOL 124 votes (third round; combined votes of both chambers of parliament)

      Legislative branch:
      bicameral Parliament or Parlament consists of the Senate or Senat (81 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve six-year terms; one-third elected every two years) and the Chamber of Deputies or Poslanecka Snemovna (200 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: Senate - last held in two rounds 5-6 November and 12-13 November 2004 (next to be held November 2006); Chamber of Deputies - last held 14-15 June 2002 (next to be held by June 2006)
      election results: Senate - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - ODS 37, KDU-CSL 14, Open Democracy 13, CSSD 7, Caucus Open Democracy 7, independents 3; Chamber of Deputies - percent of vote by party - CSSD 30.2%, ODS 24.5%, KSCM 18.5%, KDU-CSL & US-DEU coalition 14.3%, other minor 12.5%; seats by party - CSSD 70, ODS 57, KSCM 41, KDU-CSL 21, US-DEU 10, independent 1

      Judicial branch:
      Supreme Court; Constitutional Court; chairman and deputy chairmen are appointed by the president for a 10-year term

      Political parties and leaders:
      Association of Independent Candidates or SNK [Josef ZIELENIEC, chairman]; Caucus Open Democracy; Christian Democratic Union-Czechoslovak People's Party or KDU-CSL [Miroslav KALOUSEK, chairman]; Civic Democratic Alliance or ODA [Jirina NOVAKOVA, chairwoman]; Civic Democratic Party or ODS [Mirek TOPOLANEK, chairman]; Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia or KSCM [Vojtech FILIP, chairman]; Czech Social Democratic Party or CSSD [Bohuslav SOBOTKA, acting chairman]; European Democrats [Jan KASL]; Freedom Union-Democratic Union or US-DEU [Pavel NEMEC, chairman]; Green Party [Martin BURSIK, chairman]; Independent Democrats (NEZDEM) [Vladimir ZELEZNY, chairman]; Open Democracy; Party of Open Society (SOS) [Pavel NOVACEK, chairman]; Path of Change [Jiri LOBKOWITZ, chairman]

      Political pressure groups and leaders:
      Bohemian and Moravian Trade Union Confederation [Milan STECH]

      International organization participation:
      ACCT (observer), Australia Group, BIS, CE, CEI, CERN, EAPC, EBRD, EIB, ESA (cooperating state), EU (new member), FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICCt (signatory), ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IEA, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO, ITU, MIGA, MONUC, NAM (guest), NATO, NEA, NSG, OAS (observer), OECD, OIF (observer), OPCW, OSCE, PCA, UN, UNAMSIL, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNITAR, UNMEE, UNMIL, UNOMIG, UPU, WCL, WCO, WEU (associate), WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTO, ZC

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Petr KOLAR
      chancery: 3900 Spring of Freedom Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 274-9100
      FAX: [1] (202) 966-8540
      consulate(s) general: Los Angeles, New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador William J. CABANISS
      embassy: Trziste 15, 11801 Prague 1
      mailing address: use embassy street address
      telephone: [420] (2) 5753-0663
      FAX: [420] (2) 5753-0920

      Flag description:
      two equal horizontal bands of white (top) and red with a blue isosceles triangle based on the hoist side (identical to the flag of the former Czechoslovakia)

      NOTE: The information regarding Czech Republic on this page is re-published from the 2006 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Czech Republic Government 2006 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Czech Republic Government 2006 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 06-Jun-06
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)