Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2006 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Greenland Index 2006

    Greenland Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Greenland Government - 2006

      Country name:
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Greenland
      local long form: none
      local short form: Kalaallit Nunaat

      Dependency status:
      part of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark since 1979

      Government type:
      parliamentary democracy within a constitutional monarchy

      Nuuk (Godthab)

      Administrative divisions:
      3 districts (landsdele); Avannaa (Nordgronland), Tunu (Ostgronland), Kitaa (Vestgronland)
      note: there are 18 municipalities in Greenland

      none (part of the Kingdom of Denmark; foreign affairs is the responsibility of Denmark, but Greenland actively participates in international agreements relating to Greenland)

      National holiday:
      June 21 (longest day)

      5 June 1953 (Danish constitution)

      Legal system:

      18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen MARGRETHE II of Denmark (since 14 January 1972), represented by High Commissioner Soren MOLLER (since April 2005)
      head of government: Prime Minister Hans ENOKSEN (since 14 December 2002)
      cabinet: Home Rule Government is elected by the parliament (Landstinget) on the basis of the strength of parties
      elections: the monarchy is hereditary; high commissioner appointed by the monarch; prime minister is elected by parliament (usually the leader of the majority party); election last held 3 December 2002 (next to be held December 2006)
      election results: Hans ENOKSEN elected prime minister
      note: government coalition - Siumut and Inuit Ataqatigiit

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Parliament or Landstinget (31 seats; members are elected by popular vote on the basis of proportional representation to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held on 15 November 2005 (next to be held by December 2009)
      election results: percent of vote by party - Siumut 30.7%, Demokratiit 22.8%, Inuit Ataqatigiit 22.6%, Atassut Party 19.1%; Katusseqatigiit 4.1%, other 0.7%; seats by party - Siumut 10, Demokratiit 7, Inuit Ataqatigiit 7, Atassut 6, Katusseqatigiit 1
      note: two representatives were elected to the Danish Parliament or Folketing on 8 February 2005 (next to be held February 2009); percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Siumut 1, Inuit Ataqatigiit 1

      Judicial branch:
      High Court or Landsret (appeals can be made to the Ostre Landsret or Eastern Division of the High Court or Supreme Court in Copenhagen)

      Political parties and leaders:
      Atassut Party (Solidarity, a conservative party favoring continuing close relations with Denmark) [Finn KARLSEN]; Demokratiit [Per BERTHELSEN]; Inuit Ataqatigiit or IA (Eskimo Brotherhood, a leftist party favoring complete independence from Denmark rather than home rule) [Josef MOTZFELDT]; Issituup (Polar Party) [Nicolai HEINRICH]; Kattusseqatigiit (Candidate List, an independent right-of-center party with no official platform; Siumut (Forward Party, a social democratic party advocating more distinct Greenlandic identity and greater autonomy from Denmark) [Hans ENOKSEN]

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      Arctic Council, NC, NIB, UPU

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      Flag description:
      two equal horizontal bands of white (top) and red with a large disk slightly to the hoist side of center - the top half of the disk is red, the bottom half is white

      NOTE: The information regarding Greenland on this page is re-published from the 2006 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Greenland Government 2006 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Greenland Government 2006 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 06-Jun-06
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)