Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2006 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Papua New Guinea Index 2006

    Papua New Guinea Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Papua New Guinea Government - 2006

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Independent State of Papua New Guinea
      conventional short form: Papua New Guinea
      former: Territory of Papua and New Guinea
      abbreviation: PNG

      Government type:
      constitutional monarchy with parliamentary democracy

      Port Moresby

      Administrative divisions:
      20 provinces; Bougainville, Central, Chimbu, Eastern Highlands, East New Britain, East Sepik, Enga, Gulf, Madang, Manus, Milne Bay, Morobe, National Capital, New Ireland, Northern, Sandaun, Southern Highlands, Western, Western Highlands, West New Britain

      16 September 1975 (from the Australian-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday:
      Independence Day, 16 September (1975)

      16 September 1975

      Legal system:
      based on English common law

      18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by governor general Sir Paulius MATANE (since 29 June 2004)
      head of government: Prime Minister Sir Michael SOMARE (since 2 August 2002); deputy prime minister Sir Moi AVEI (since 7 June 2005)
      cabinet: National Executive Council appointed by the governor general on the recommendation of the prime minister
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the National Executive Council; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition usually is appointed prime minister by the governor general

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral National Parliament - sometimes referred to as the House of Assembly (109 seats, 89 elected from open electorates and 20 from provincial electorates; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 15-29 June 2002 and April and May 2003; completed in May 2003 (voting in the Southern Highlands was not completed during the June 2002 election period); next to be held not later than June 2007
      election results: percent of vote by party - National Alliance 18%, URP 13%, PDM 12%, PPP 8%, Pangu 6%, PAP 5%, PLP 4%, others 34%; seats by party - National Alliance 19, URP 14, PDM 13, PPP 8, PANGU 6, PAP 5, PLP 4, others 40; as of January 2006 - National Alliance 25, URP 10, PNGP 9, PPP 9, PANGU 6, PAP 12, PLP 4, others 34
      note: association with political parties is fluid (2005)

      Judicial branch:
      Supreme Court (the chief justice is appointed by the governor general on the proposal of the National Executive Council after consultation with the minister responsible for justice; other judges are appointed by the Judicial and Legal Services Commission)

      Political parties and leaders:
      Christian Democratic Party [Dr. Banare BUN]; Melanesian Alliance Party or MAP [Sir Moi AVEL]; National Alliance Party or NA [Michael SOMARE]; National Party [Melcher PEP]; Papua and Niugini Union Party or PANGU [Chris HAIVETA]; Papua New Guinea First Party [Cecilking DORUBA]; Papua New Guinea Labor Party [Bob DANAYA]; Papua New Guinea Party or PNGP (was People's Democratic Movement or PDM) [Sir Mekere MORAUTA]; People's Action Party or PAP [Moses MALADINA]; People's Labor Party or PLP [Ekis ROPENU]; People's National Congress or PNC [Peter O'NEILL]; People's Progressive Party or PPP [Andrew BAING]; Pipol First Party [Luther WENGE]; United Party [Bire KIMASOPA]; United Resources Party or URP [Tim NEVILLE] (2005)

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      ACP, APEC, ARF, AsDB, ASEAN (associate member), C, CP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), IPU, ISO (correspondent), ITU, MIGA, NAM, OPCW, PIF, Sparteca, SPC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCO, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Evan Jeremy PAKI
      chancery: 1779 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Suite 805, Washington, DC 20036
      telephone: [1] (202) 745-3680
      FAX: [1] (202) 745-3679

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Robert W. FITTS
      embassy: Douglas Street, Port Moresby
      mailing address: 4240 Port Moresby PI, US Department of State, Washington DC 20521-4240
      telephone: [675] 321-1455
      FAX: [675] 321-3423

      Flag description:
      divided diagonally from upper hoist-side corner; the upper triangle is red with a soaring yellow bird of paradise centered; the lower triangle is black with five, white, five-pointed stars of the Southern Cross constellation centered

      NOTE: The information regarding Papua New Guinea on this page is re-published from the 2006 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Papua New Guinea Government 2006 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Papua New Guinea Government 2006 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 06-Jun-06
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)