ABC logo

. Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback





    1998 UPDATE

    • Country name:
      conventional long form: Republic of Botswana
      conventional short form: Botswana
      former: Bechuanaland

      Data code: BC

      Government type: parliamentary republic

      National capital: Gaborone

      Administrative divisions: 10 districts and four town councils*; Central, Chobe, Francistown*, Gaborone*, Ghanzi, Kgalagadi, Kgatleng, Kweneng, Lobatse*, Ngamiland, North-East, Selebi-Phikwe*, South-East, Southern

      Independence: 30 September 1966 (from UK)

      National holiday: Independence Day, 30 September (1966)

      Constitution: March 1965, effective 30 September 1966

      Legal system: based on Roman-Dutch law and local customary law; judicial review limited to matters of interpretation; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President Festus MOGAE (since 1 April 1998) note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Festus MOGAE (since 1 April 1998) note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president
      elections: president elected by the National Assembly for a five-year term; election last held 15 October 1994 (next to be held NA October 1999); vice president appointed by the president
      election results: Sir Ketumile MASIRE elected president; percent of National Assembly vote—NA
      note: President MASIRE resigned on 31 March 1998; Vice President MOGAE assumed the presidency pending elections to be held in 1999; on 2 April 1998, Festus MOGAE, then president, designated S. K. Ian KHAMA to be vice president after he is elected to the National Assembly in accordance with constitutional requirements

      Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament consists of the House of Chiefs (a largely advisory 15-member body consisting of the chiefs of the eight principal tribes, four elected subchiefs, and three members selected by the other 12) and the National Assembly (44 seats, 40 members are directly elected by popular vote and 4 appointed by the majority party; members serve five-year terms)
      elections: National Assembly—elections last held 15 October 1994 (next to be held October 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—BDP 27, BNF 13

      Judicial branch: High Court; Court of Appeal

      Political parties and leaders: Botswana Democratic Party or BDP [Festus MOGAE]; Botswana Freedom Party or BFP [leader NA]; Botswana National Front or BNF [Kenneth KOMA]; Botswana People's Party or BPP [Knight MARIPE]; Independence Freedom Party or IFP [Motsamai MPHO]; Unified Action Party or UAP [Lepetu SETSHWEALD]

      International organization participation: ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, ECA, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU, SACU, SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Archibald Mooketsa MOGWE
      chancery: Suite 7M, 3400 International Drive NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 244-4990, 4991
      FAX: [1] (202) 244-4164

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Robert C. KRUEGER
      embassy: address NA, Gaborone
      mailing address: P. O. Box 90, Gaborone
      telephone: [267] 353982
      FAX: [267] 356947

      Flag description: light blue with a horizontal white-edged black stripe in the center

Buy a Wall Map Today

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Language Translation Services

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 9-September-1999