Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
ABC logo

. Index

. 1996 Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback



Cape Verde Government 1996

    • Names:

        conventional long form:
        Republic of Cape Verde

        conventional short form:
        Cape Verde

        local long form:
        Republica de Cabo Verde

        local short form:
        Cabo Verde

    • Digraph:

    • Type:

    • Capital:

    • Administrative divisions:
      14 districts (concelhos, singular - concelho); Boa Vista, Brava, Fogo, Maio, Paul, Praia, Porto Novo, Ribeira Grande, Sal, Santa Catarina, Santa Cruz, Sao Nicolau, Sao Vicente, Tarrafal

    • Independence:
      5 July 1975 (from Portugal)

    • National holiday:
      Independence Day, 5 July (1975)

    • Constitution:
      new constitution came into force 25 September 1992

    • Legal system:

    • Suffrage:
      18 years of age; universal

    • Executive branch:

        chief of state:
        President Antonio MASCARENHAS Monteiro (since 22 March 1991; election last held 17 February 1991 (next to be held February 1996); results - Antonio Monteiro MASCARENHAS (independent) received 72.6% of vote

        head of government:
        Prime Minister Carlos Alberto Wahnon de Carvalho VEIGA (since 13 January 1991)

        Council of Ministers; appointed by prime minister from members of the Assembly

    • Legislative branch:

        People's National Assembly (Assembleia Nacional Popular):
        elections last held 13 January 1991 (next to be held January 1996); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (79 total) MPD 56, PAICV 23; note - the 1991 multiparty Assembly election ended 15 years of single-party rule

    • Judicial branch:
      Supreme Tribunal of Justice (Supremo Tribunal de Justia)

    • Political parties and leaders:
      Movement for Democracy (MPD), Prime Minister Carlos VEIGA, founder and chairman; African Party for Independence of Cape Verde (PAICV), Pedro Verona Rodrigues PIRES, chairman

    • Member of:
      ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, IOC, IOM (observer), ITU, NAM, OAU, UN (Cape Verde assumed a nonpermanent seat on the Security Council on 1 January 1992), UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNOMOZ, UPU, WCL, WHO, WMO

    • Diplomatic representation in US:

        chief of mission:
        (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Jose Eduardo BARBOSA (since 12 February 1994)

        3415 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20007

        [1] (202) 965-6820

        [1] (202) 965-1207

        consulate(s) general:

    • US diplomatic representation:

        chief of mission:
        Ambassador Joseph M. SEGARS

        Rua Abilio Macedo 81, Praia

        mailing address:
        C. P. 201, Praia

        [238] 61 56 16

        [238] 61 13 55

    • Flag:
      three horozontal bands of light blue (top, double width), white (with a horozontal red stripe in the middle third), and light blue; a circle of 10 yellow five-pointed stars is centered on the hoist end of the red stripe and extends into the upper and lower blue bands

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Language Translation Services

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997

Copyright © 1995-2020 ITA (all rights reserved)