Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Buy the DOT on Diskettes or CD-ROM

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2003 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Botswana Government - 2003

      Country name: conventional long form: Republic of Botswana
      conventional short form: Botswana
      former: Bechuanaland

      Government type: parliamentary republic

      Capital: Gaborone

      Administrative divisions: 10 districts and four town councils*; Central, Chobe, Francistown*, Gaborone*, Ghanzi, Kgalagadi, Kgatleng, Kweneng, Lobatse*, Ngamiland, North-East, Selebi-Pikwe*, South-East, Southern

      Independence: 30 September 1966 (from UK)

      National holiday: Independence Day (Botswana Day), 30 September (1966)

      Constitution: March 1965, effective 30 September 1966

      Legal system: based on Roman-Dutch law and local customary law; judicial review limited to matters of interpretation; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch: chief of state: President Festus MOGAE (since 1 April 1998) and Vice President Seretse Ian KHAMA (since 13 July 1998); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Festus MOGAE (since 1 April 1998) and Vice President Seretse Ian KHAMA (since 13 July 1998); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president
      elections: president elected by the National Assembly for a five-year term; election last held 16 October 1999 (next to be held NA October 2004); vice president appointed by the president
      election results: Festus MOGAE elected president; percent of National Assembly vote - 54.3%

      Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament consists of the House of Chiefs (a largely advisory 15-member body consisting of the chiefs of the eight principal tribes, four elected subchiefs, and three members selected by the other 12 members) and the National Assembly (44 seats, 40 members are directly elected by popular vote and 4 are appointed by the majority party; members serve five-year terms)
      elections: National Assembly elections last held 16 October 1999 (next to be held NA October 2004)
      election results: percent of vote by party - BDP 54.3%, BNF 24.7%, other 21%; seats by party - BDP 33, BNF 6, other 1

      Judicial branch: High Court; Court of Appeal; Magistrates' Courts (one in each district)

      Political parties and leaders: Botswana Democratic Party or BDP [Festus MOGAE]; Botswana National Front or BNF [Otswoletse MOUPO]; Botswana Congress Party or BCP [Mokgweetsi KGOSIPULA]; Botswana Alliance Movement or BAM [Ephraim Lepetu SETSHWAELO]
      note: a number of minor parties joined forces in 1999 to form the BAM but did not capture any parliamentary seats; the BAM parties are: the United Action Party [Ephraim Lepetu SETSHWAELO], the Independence Freedom Party or IFP [Motsamai MPHO], and the Botswana Progressive Union [D. K. KWELE]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: NA

      International organization participation: ACP, AfDB, C, ECA, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICCt, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, NAM, OAU, OPCW, SACU, SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCO, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US: chief of mission: Ambassador Kgosi SEEPAPITSO IV
      chancery: 1531-1533 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
      FAX: [1] (202) 244-4164
      telephone: [1] (202) 244-4990

      Diplomatic representation from the US: chief of mission: Ambassador Joseph HUGGING
      embassy: address NA, Gaborone
      mailing address: Embassy Enclave, P. O. Box 90, Gaborone
      telephone: [267] 353982
      FAX: [267] 312782

      Flag description: light blue with a horizontal white-edged black stripe in the center

      NOTE: The information regarding Botswana on this page is re-published from the 2003 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guinea Geography 2003 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Botswana Government 2003 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 20-Sep-03
    Copyright © 2020 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)