Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Buy the DOT on Diskettes or CD-ROM

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2003 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    . Feedback

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Marshall Islands Government - 2003

      Country name: conventional long form: Republic of the Marshall Islands
      conventional short form: Marshall Islands
      former: Marshall Islands District (Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands)

      Government type: constitutional government in free association with the US; the Compact of Free Association entered into force 21 October 1986

      Capital: Majuro

      Administrative divisions: 33 municipalities; Ailinginae, Ailinglaplap, Ailuk, Arno, Aur, Bikar, Bikini, Bokak, Ebon, Enewetak, Erikub, Jabat, Jaluit, Jemo, Kili, Kwajalein, Lae, Lib, Likiep, Majuro, Maloelap, Mejit, Mili, Namorik, Namu, Rongelap, Rongrik, Toke, Ujae, Ujelang, Utirik, Wotho, Wotje

      Independence: 21 October 1986 (from the US-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday: Constitution Day, 1 May (1979)

      Constitution: 1 May 1979

      Legal system: based on adapted Trust Territory laws, acts of the legislature, municipal, common, and customary laws

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch: chief of state: President Kessai Hesa NOTE (since 3 January 2000); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Kessai Hesa NOTE (since 3 January 2000); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet selected by the president from among the members of Parliament
      elections: president elected by Parliament from among its own members for a four-year term; election last held 15 November 1999 (next to be held NA November 2003)
      election results: Kessai Hesa NOTE elected president; percent of Parliament vote - 100%

      Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament or Nitijela (33 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 15 November 1999 (next to be held not later than November 2003)
      note: the Council of Chiefs is a 12-member body that advises on matters affecting customary law and practice
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - NA

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court; High Court

      Political parties and leaders: traditionally there have been no formally organized political parties; what has existed more closely resembles factions or interest groups because they do not have party headquarters, formal platforms, or party structures; the following two "groupings" have competed in legislative balloting in recent years - Kabua Party [Imata KABUA] and United Democratic Party or UDP [Litokwa TOMEING]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: NA

      International organization participation: ACP, AsDB, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICCt, IDA, IFC, IMF, IMO, Interpol, ITU, OPCW (signatory), Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, WHO

      Diplomatic representation in the US: chief of mission: Ambassador Banny DE BRUM
      chancery: 2433 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      consulate(s) general: Honolulu
      FAX: [1] (202) 232-3236
      telephone: [1] (202) 234-5414

      Diplomatic representation from the US: chief of mission: Ambassador Michael J. SENKO
      embassy: Oceanside, Mejen Weto, Long Island, Majuro
      mailing address: P. O. Box 1379, Majuro, Republic of the Marshall Islands 96960-1379
      telephone: [692] 247-4011
      FAX: [692] 247-4012

      Flag description: blue with two stripes radiating from the lower hoist-side corner - orange (top) and white; there is a white star with four large rays and 20 small rays on the hoist side above the two stripes

      NOTE: The information regarding Marshall Islands on this page is re-published from the 2003 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guinea Geography 2003 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Marshall Islands Government 2003 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 20-Sep-03
    Copyright © 2020 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)