Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2006 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Israel Index 2006

    Israel Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Israel Government - 2006

      Country name:
      conventional long form: State of Israel
      conventional short form: Israel
      local long form: Medinat Yisra'el
      local short form: Yisra'el

      Government type:
      parliamentary democracy

      Jerusalem; note - Israel proclaimed Jerusalem as its capital in 1950, but the US, like nearly all other countries, maintains its Embassy in Tel Aviv

      Administrative divisions:
      6 districts (mehozot, singular - mehoz); Central, Haifa, Jerusalem, Northern, Southern, Tel Aviv

      14 May 1948 (from League of Nations mandate under British administration)

      National holiday:
      Independence Day, 14 May (1948); note - Israel declared independence on 14 May 1948, but the Jewish calendar is lunar and the holiday may occur in April or May

      no formal constitution; some of the functions of a constitution are filled by the Declaration of Establishment (1948), the Basic Laws of the parliament (Knesset), and the Israeli citizenship law

      Legal system:
      mixture of English common law, British Mandate regulations, and, in personal matters, Jewish, Christian, and Muslim legal systems; in December 1985, Israel informed the UN Secretariat that it would no longer accept compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President Moshe KATZAV (since 31 July 2000)
      head of government: Prime Minister Ehud OLMERT (since May 2006)
      cabinet: Cabinet selected by prime minister and approved by the Knesset
      elections: president is largely a ceremonial role and is elected by the Knesset for a seven-year term; election last held 31 July 2000 (next to be held mid-2007); following legislative elections, the president assigns a Knesset member - traditionally the leader of the largest party - the task of forming a governing coalition; election last held 28 January 2003 (next scheduled to be held in March 2006)
      election results: Moshe KATZAV elected president by the 120-member Knesset with a total of 60 votes, other candidate, Shimon PERES, received 57 votes (there were three abstentions); Ariel SHARON continued as prime minister after Likud Party victory in January 2003 Knesset elections; Likud won 38 seats and then formed coalition government with Shinui, the National Religious Party, and the National Union; controversy surrounding SHARON's disengagement plan ultimately led to the formation of a Likud-Labor-United Torah Judaism (UTJ) coalition government in January 2005

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Knesset (120 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 29 March 2006 (next scheduled to be held in 2010)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Kadima 29, Labor 19, Likud 12, SHAS 12, Yisrael Beiteinu 11, National Union/NRP (National Religious Party) 9, Gil (Gimla'ey Yisrael LaKneset) Party 7, Torah and Shabbat Judaism 6, Meretz-YAHAD 5, United Arab List 4, Balad 3, HADASH 3

      Judicial branch:
      Supreme Court (justices appointed for life by the president)

      Political parties and leaders:
      Democratic Front for Peace and Equality (HADASH) [Muhammad BARAKEH]; Gil (Gimla'ey Yisrael LaKneset) Party; Kadima (formed in November 2005) [Ehud OLMERT]; Labor Party [Amir PERETZ]; Likud Party [Binyamin NETANYAHU]; Meretz (merged with YAHAD) [Yossi BEILIN]; National Democratic Assembly (Balad) [Azmi BISHARA]; National Union/National Religious Party [Binyamin "Beni" ELON]; SHAS [Eliyahu YISHAI]; Torah and Shabbat Judaism [Yakov LITZMAN]; United Arab List [Ibrahim SARSOUR]; United Torah Judaism [Yaakov LITZMAN]; YAHAD (merged with Meretz) [Yossi BEILIN]; Yisrael Beiteinu [Avigdor LIEBERMAN]; Yisrael Ba'Aliya (merged with Likud)

      Political pressure groups and leaders:
      Israeli nationalists advocating Jewish settlement on the West Bank and Gaza Strip; Peace Now supports territorial concessions in the West Bank and Gaza Strip; Yesha (settler) Council promotes settler interests and opposes territorial compromise; B'Tselem monitors human rights abuses

      International organization participation:
      BIS, BSEC (observer), CE (observer), CERN (observer), EBRD, FAO, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICCt (signatory), ICFTU, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS (observer), ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO, ITU, MIGA, OAS (observer), OPCW (signatory), OSCE (partner), PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Daniel AYALON
      chancery: 3514 International Drive NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 364-5500
      FAX: [1] (202) 364-5560
      consulate(s) general: Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Richard H. JONES
      embassy: 71 Hayarkon Street, Tel Aviv 63903
      mailing address: PSC 98, Box 29, APO AE 09830
      telephone: [972] (3) 519-7369/7453/7454/7457/7458/7551/7575
      FAX: [972] (3) 516-4390
      consulate(s) general: Jerusalem; note - an independent US mission, established in 1928, whose members are not accredited to a foreign government

      Flag description:
      white with a blue hexagram (six-pointed linear star) known as the Magen David (Shield of David) centered between two equal horizontal blue bands near the top and bottom edges of the flag

      NOTE: The information regarding Israel on this page is re-published from the 2006 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Israel Government 2006 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Israel Government 2006 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 06-Jun-06
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)