British Indian Ocean Territory Government - 2023


Country name

conventional long form: British Indian Ocean Territory

conventional short form: none

abbreviation: BIOT

etymology: self-descriptive name specifying the territory's affiliation and location

Dependency status

overseas territory of the UK; administered by a commissioner, resident in the Foreign, Commonwealth, and Development Office in London

Legal system

the laws of the UK apply where applicable

Executive branch

chief of state: King CHARLES III (since 8 September 2022)

head of government: Commissioner Paul CANDLER (since 8 July 2021); Administrator Kit PYMAN; note - both reside in the UK and are represented by Commander Steven R. DRYSDALE, RN, commanding British Forces on Diego Garcia (since 19 February 2021)

cabinet: NA

elections/appointments: the monarchy is hereditary; commissioner and administrator appointed by the monarch

International organization participation


Diplomatic representation in the US

none (overseas territory of the UK)

Diplomatic representation from the US

embassy: none (overseas territory of the UK)

Flag description

white with six blue wavy horizontal stripes; the flag of the UK is in the upper hoist-side quadrant; the striped section bears a palm tree and yellow crown (the symbols of the territory) centered on the outer half of the flag; the wavy stripes represent the Indian Ocean; although not officially described, the six blue stripes may stand for the six main atolls of the archipelago

National anthem

note: as an overseas territory of the United Kingdom, "God Save the King" is official (see United Kingdom)

NOTE: The information regarding British Indian Ocean Territory on this page is re-published from the 2023 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency and other sources. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of British Indian Ocean Territory 2023 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about British Indian Ocean Territory 2023 should be addressed to the CIA or the source cited on each page.

This page was last modified 10 Nov 23, Copyright © 2023 ITA all rights reserved.